Women grab all key government posts in Assam’s Nalbari district

Guwahati, July 5: What is women’s empowerment – an Assam district has showed the women’s empowerment after women occupying all key government posts of the district including the head of the district.

From Deputy Commissioner (DC), Superintendent of Police (SP), Deputy Superintendent of Police (DSP) to Chief Executive officer of Zila Parishad – women now grabbed all key government posts in Assam’s Nalbari district

Assam Civil Service (ACS) officer Purabi Konwar had recently joined as the first woman Deputy Commissioner of Nalbari district.

Women grab all key government posts in Assam
Nalbari DC Purabi Konwar

After Purabi Konwar joined as the Deputy Commissioner, the lower Assam district has become women ruled district as all key posts have been occupied by women officers.

Earlier IPS officer Amanjeet Kaur had joined as the Superintendent of Police (SP) of the district, who was earlier posted as the deputy commissioner of police (traffic) in Guwahati.

Women grab all key government posts in Assam
Nalbari SP Amanjeet Kaur

Apart from it, the district has Deputy Superintendent of Police (DSP) Jupi Bordoloi.

Senior ACS officer Krishna Baruah is the Chief Executive officer of Zila Parishad of Nalbari district.

On the other hand, out of seven revenue circles of the district, four are headed by women officers – Banashree Deka (Nalbari-Sadar), Nandita Hazarika (Ghagrapara), Shilpika Kalita (Banekuchi) and Rituparna Bhadra (Borbhag).

Apart from it, many other women officers are now presently worked in different government departments in the district – District Labour officer Kabita Barman, District Public Relation officer Binurani Rajbonshi, District Tax officer Jumi Gogoi, District Social Welfare officer Padmeswari Saikia, District Food Inspector Nabanita Haloi, District Child Protection officer Dipti Phukan, Finance and Accounting officer Daisy Nath, District Project Manager of NHM Minakshi Borpujari,  Sub-Registrar of Revenue Madhabi Kalita, Sub-Divisional Agriculture officer Lakhi Dutta, Geologist of Krishi Vigyan Kendra Manashi Chakrabarty, Block Development Officer of Nalbari (West) is Barsha Sarma and many others.

There are five judges in Nalbari district – District and Sessions judge Sharmila Bhuyan, Assistant Sessions judge Hemakhi Thakuria Buragohain, Additional Chief Judicial Magistrate Sabrina Bhattacharya, Judicial Magistrate (1st class) Smriti Rekha Bhuyan and Munsif Rubina Yasmin.

Nalbari district Deputy Commissioner Purabi Konwar said that – “Women officers have been posted in all major key posts in the district. I am hoping that we will do better with a good team for the people of the district.

According to 2011 population census, population in Nalbari district was 7,71,639 of which 3,96,006 were male and 375,633 female.