Tripura government sets up a high-level committee to discuss education

June 15: The Tripura state government has set up a 32 member high-level committee to decide the reopening of schools, colleges as well as in the state as Unlock phase 1 begins.

The committee would look after the modality and timings relating to the reopening of all such educational institutions.

State Education Minister Ratanlal Nath announced this in a press briefing at the civil secretariat on Monday.

He said, “We have decided to form a 32-member committee involving persons from different fields apart from the education depàrtment. The main role of the committee is to examine the suitable timing for re-opening of all educational institutions and the required steps to be taken after that

The committee is going to be headed by the Education Minister himself. Other members would include minister of the Social Welfare and Social Education Department, Santana Chakma, former Education minister Tapan Chakraborty, Vice-Chancellor of MBB University, Satyadeo Poddar, Vice-Chancellor (in-charge) of Tripura University N.K. Singh, Vice Chairman of State Higher Education Council, Arunoday Saha, Chairperson of Tripura State Commission for Protection of Child Rights, Nilima Ghosh, Secretary to the Department of Education, Saumya Gupta, special secretary to the Department of Social Welfare, Deepa D. Nayar and CEO of TTAADC.

Along with these members, representatives of the Teacher’s body, Student wings, Government Schools, Private-run Schools, Madrasa and Media personnel will also be a part of this committee.