Manipur, June 27: The BJP on Saturday named Sharda Devi as president of its Manipur unit.

The appointments were made by BJP national president JP Nadda and come into immediate effect, party general secretary Arun Singh said in a statement.

Sharda Devi will succeed Saikhom Tikendra Singh, who succumbed to COVID-19 last month.

Sharda Devi earlier served as vice president of the Manipur unit.

Mr Kalita, who is a sitting MLA in the Assam assembly, will replace Ranjeet Kumar Dass, who became a minister in the newly-formed government in the State led by Himanta Biswa Sarma.

Also Read: Manipur Farmer’s export pineapple worth Rs 78 lakh outside the state


The BJP had won the recently held Assembly polls in Assam.

Manipur is going to the Assembly polls next year.